New York City-Mandela Marathon Partnership to benefit uMgungundlovu District

uMgungundlovu District Municipality Mayor, Yusuf Bhamjee is upbeat that the partnership deal between organizers of one of the world's biggest and popular marathons in the world, the New York City Marathon, and the uMgungundlovu District Muncipality, which is the organizer of the Mandela Day Marathon, will have a huge impact on the district's economy. 

Mayor Bhamjee, who is is currently on a mission abroad leading a delegation to market the annual Nelson Mandela Day Marathon to thousands of athletes running in the New York City Marathon this coming Sunday, 3 November 2013, is hosted by the New York Road Runners Club and is being assisted by the South African Consulate General in New York.

Mayor Bhamjee is accompanied among others by Willie Mtolo, the first South African to win the New York City Marathon in his capacity as an ambassador of the Nelson Mandela Day Marathon.

Left to right: Consul Gugulethu Gingqi, Mr. Leslie Moeti, Race Director of KZN Athletics Club, Mr. Lennox Mabaso of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Mayor of Umgungundlovu District Mr. Yusuf Bhamjee, Consul General George Monyemangene, Mrs. Barbara Mgutshini, COGTA General Manager, Mr. Raymond de Vries of Ray de Vries and Associates, Mr. Willie Mtolo, 1992 New York City Marathon winner, Mr. Terence Khuzwayo, Municipal Manager of Umgungundlovu District and Consul Bernard Legodi.

Marathon legend Bill Rodgers (he won four Boston and four New York marathons), poses with KZN delegation led by Mayor Yusuf Bhamjee and 1992 New York City Marathon winner, Willie Mtolo.  The Mandela Day Marathon hosted by Umgungundlovu District is gaining popularity with the media in New York and athletes from around the globe. 

Willie Mtolo and Lusapho April doing media interviews. Lusapho, from Eastern Cape, recently won the New Hanover Marathon.  He is one to the top athletes looking to be the third South African to win the New York City Marathon on Sunday, 3 November 2013.